top of page

100 % Pain

Updated: Apr 6, 2022

Bumps and bruises, scratches, and scrapes are parts of the journey that life would have us take. It is Sunday morning, and the atmosphere is thick with undiluted worship. Topped with a scope of bible and drizzles of biblical anecdotes dripping from each side. Sounds like the recipe for a perfect Sunday, right? Well, so I thought until I went to brunch. Nothing prepared me for the bizarre experience that followed. I walked into the restaurant and took a seat by a window to observe Times Square and enjoy the ambiance. Looked to my left, and there was a shelf with a bottle that read 100% Pain. Immediately I went into a daze and thought about the effects of pain. Unlike faith, pain is not the substance of things hoped for. While it can be likened to the evidence of things not seen, it is not desired.


Several situations have proven that pain is but the catalyst of greatness. However, from personal experience, pain is overbearing. From childhood, I have battled severe Asthma. There were days it was hard to breathe, others where I was holding on for dear life, then the day I lost consciousness and the capability to breathe. I was outside playing one moment, then the next, I woke up on a bed with cords connected to my body and doctors saying, "he is back!" I spent a month in the hospital with doctors running endless tests, which resulted in daily injections and blood work. My pain tolerance was an all-time zero. To date, the diagnosis is unknown to me. Years later, I get flashbacks every time I see a needle or have to visit a doctor. Needless to say, I have had my fair share of pain and firmly hold to the chorus that pain is not welcomed but is necessary. Had I not endured that, I would not be able to improve my life resume and adjust my mindset to pain, despite hearing that God gives his most vigorous battles to his strongest soldiers.


Now that the story concept has been painted let us get to the meat of the matter.

In authenticity, pain has plagued my life since conception. There have been instances where I found myself caught in a union with pain and its counterparts. It was more of a toxic love triangle that continued for years. I knew it was unhealthy, but I fell in love with pain somewhere along the line, I fell in love with pain. People would inflict pain, and I would relish it because, in my mind, they were oblivious to the side effects of their actions. One of my more vital yet weakest traits is loyalty. You can hurt me and I still support you and try to love you to the core. However, the pain is not similar to God's as he endured the greatest pain. There are still scars that have not been healed, and to some extent, they have surpassed the level of 100 % pain.


I have made friends with pain and became blinded to the reality of the purpose. Pain is not permanent; It was never designed to last. However, we hold on to something temporary and make it permanent because of our lack of forgiveness and validation. Pain is not 100% rum proof but 100% blood proof. God washed our inequities and equipped us for the challenges we've faced. Nothing is an accident where God is concerned. The pain we face today is to build endurance for tomorrow.


Hanging on a cross with nails forced through his flesh with a crown of thorns on his head is enough proof that Jesus endured 100% pain. The pain left him with scars, the pain that demonstrated disloyalty when one of his own betrayed him for but 30 pieces of silver. On the trade or stock market, one would look at that as a loss more than a profit, but spiritually, that surpasses the capital of any start-up business. Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one's life for one's friends. [ St. John 3:13] If this is not the epitome of love, I don't know what is. In essence, we are to love one another in truth and light, but never did the bible eliminate the process of pain. The mere fact that God himself bore the chastisement of our sins in what we could call human form is enough to prove that we are not pain-proof. That is why there are pain reliefs to act as suppressants when we are in pain. We are not left to endure the pain alone. Comfort is provided to aid the discomfort.


Knowing that we are not immune to pain, having a pain plan would be ideal. What does that look like? You ask great questions. A pain plan is your cross-over kit; how you will make it through pain. What scriptures can take you through a given situation? Who can you call when you are in times of need? Or who is your pain buster in this given situation? Unlike television, you cannot run to Ghostbusters or Popeye the Sailorman. You can run to the Father, who is ready and waiting. Call on him in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you will honor me. [Psalm 50:15 NIV] because he sits waiting in the sanctuary. He is close to the broken-hearted and is always on call. Don't wait until Advil or Alieve does not fit the mold. Fear is not an excuse to be crippled; loyalty should not hold you captive. Neither should pride bridle your tongue from speaking up in instances of need. The heat of pain is beyond the door of the chamber. There is purpose in your pain, and though weeping may endure for a night, there is perpetual joy after the storm. There is peace beyond the knowing and a fountain of forever in the dwelling of the savior.


Fear, faith, and self-inflicted pain cannot reside under the same roof. One has to be evicted or eliminated from the picture, which is solely hinged on man. We have access to unlimited pharmaceuticals, but we suffer because of disobedience and self-gratification. Remember the former things of old; for I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me, declaring the end from the beginning and from ancient times things not yet done, saying, 'My counsel shall stand, and I will accomplish all my purpose. [Isaiah 46-9-10]


God endured pain, and Christianity is 100% pain. Though we are not consumed, we are not immune to pain. The purpose of pain is often growth, and there is a lesson to learn. Don't just call Him the Good Good Father when life is melodic. Sing the same song, if not greater, when the music stops. Sing the same song amid the storm. Breakup with fear and divorce self-doubt because the father of love and light endured 100% pain for our freedom and healing.



31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page