top of page

Pass Through The Valley

“Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me...” – Psalm 23:4


This is a verse that is a reference to how we should regard the dark times in our lives: financial, relational, medical, etc. Whatever is causing you to feel like you have no room to catch a breath — they are the dark times. I can understand if right now you feel like you just want to stop going. The shadows are growing, and here comes the grave temptation to stop, to set up camp and hide in fear. However, I’ve learned over the years that settling in the valley actually makes it harder for you when that season finally comes to an end. We weren’t meant to stop in the valley, but to pass through it. The valley is just supposed to be a place of passing, not a place for permanent rest.



When we camp out in the valley; when we give up and stop going — we eventually dry up, lose our way, and lose our substance. You finally get to the end of your season (whenever that is) and realise that you have to start all over again.


Do not stop in the valley no matter how hard it gets. “Even though I walk through the darkest valley . . . .” Even though you “walk…” not “stop…” I know. Many of you (including me) have been experiencing wave after wave, and everytime you come up for air, the shadows pull you right back in. I know. I know that in this season you want to just retreat. Truth is, nothing’s wrong with that. In fact, please use the rest stops, but don’t give up! Keep going! Keep following the Shepherd’s voice.


God’s hands will faithfully guide you in the valley, and that’s a truth you can cling to. Not because I’ve said it, but because it’s in the scriptures and I’m sure you’ve experienced it at some point throughout your life. God’s faithfulness is certain. His rescue & salvation is certain. It may not look that way now, but in the end, I can guarantee you that you will look back with praise & thanksgiving.


“Why shouldn’t I give up?” Because at the end of your valley season, there you may experience your greatest victory yet. And you know what? Sometimes God doesn’t let us wait until we get to the end of a season to bless us. Sometimes He pours His blessing on us in the midst of trouble. Psalm 23 verse 5 says, “You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over.”


God will provide for you in the midst of the storm that wants to take you out. He will be good to you in the presence of your enemy. God, your host, will invite you to a very rich table prepared just for you. You can sit at this table with the assurance that you are perfectly secured. Darkness looms but God is light, and that light is with you. Think about it, and as you do, may confidence spring up in your heart.


The table that God is inviting you to, in the presence of your enemy, is bountiful; It was well prepared with much care just for you. I like how Spurgeon puts it: “When a soldier is in the presence of his enemies, if he eats at all he snatches a hasty meal, and away he hastens to the fight. But observe: ‘Thou preparest a table,’ just as a servant does when she unfolds the damask cloth and displays the ornaments of the feast on an ordinary peaceful occasion. Nothing is hurried, there is no confusion, no disturbance, the enemy is at the door and yet God prepares a table, and the Christian sits down and eats as if everything were in perfect peace.”


God is able to give you perfect peace, even in the midst of the most trying circumstance! Did you get that? God can & He will if you trust Him. It’s totally fine to cry out to God. It’s totally fine if you take a day or two, but what I want you to not do is get comfortable in that place of distress. Don’t make the valley your destination or dwelling place. Take it day by day, but pass through it.






26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page